Metheny: I am ready to serve

Running for LaPorte County Commissioner has been a long time coming for me. I have paid my dues as a citizen advocate, and proven myself to be committed to the public good. For years, ... Continue Reading →

Metheny: Kora is negligent, incompetent

Incumbent LaPorte County Commissioner Vidya Kora has walked away from $1 million in state matching money for road repair in LaPorte County. I hope the taxpayers of LaPorte County are ... Continue Reading →

Area school board candidates certified for Nov. 8 election

Information from LaPorte County Clerk Lynne Spevak The LaPorte County Election Board met recently to officially approve candidates for area school boards in the Nov. 8 election. WNLP ... Continue Reading →

Democratic gubernatorial nominee John Gregg’s running mate, Christina Hale, is a LaPorte County native

John Gregg, Democratic nominee for governor, announced May 25, 2016, that his running mate is State Rep. Christina Hale, D-Indianapolis, a Michigan City native who once worked as a ... Continue Reading →

Sanders, Trump win in LaPorte County; here are complete local primary results

Here are the final figures from LaPorte County’s May 3 primary election. Winners and their vote totals are in bold. The voter turnout was 35.23%, or 29,105 of 82,606 registered ... Continue Reading →

2,000-plus pack Civic for Cruz rally

Photos by Bob Wellinski (click to enlarge) Regardless of your politics, it’s always news when a major presidential candidate comes to your hometown. An electrified crowd welcomed ... Continue Reading →

Letter: Elect county officeholders who will allow private enterprise

Recently, three things have come to the forefront in the local news. All three concern private citizens fighting to stop businesses from operating and doing what private business does ... Continue Reading →

Deborah Vance is a candidate for county clerk

(Press release and photo provided) Deborah Vance is running for Circuit Court Clerk of LaPorte County on the Republican ticket. Vance has been a resident of LaPorte County for more ... Continue Reading →

Holifield: LaPorte County taxpayers should be asking these hard questions of their leaders

The taxpayers of LaPorte County need to seriously look at how their tax dollars are being spent and ask why we elect the same group of people over and over again. LaPorte County has ... Continue Reading →

Ron McAtee is a candidate for LaPorte County Council At Large

Ron McAtee has filed to run for LaPorte County Council At Large in the May 3, 2016, Republican primary. McAtee, 67, said in a press release: “I found my time as 3rd Ward councilman ... Continue Reading →