Slicer sports roundup, April 23-28

Here are LPHS results for which WNLP received information April 19-28:


— The Slicers beat Washington Township 7-3 on April 28. Nolan Lorenz went 2-4 with 3 RBI. Lee Timmons got the win. The Slicers are 11-5 on the season.

— LaPorte fell to Crown Point 5-2 on April 25, but defeated Crown Point 4-2 on April 24. In the victory, Chandler Banic got the win on the hill while Nolan Lorenz got the save. Gabe Silfa went 2-3 with 2 RBI and Grant Collins went 1-2 with 1 RBI.

In JV action, LaPorte beat Crown Point 7-3 on April 24, fell to Crown Point 9-1 on April 25, and beat John Adams 18-8 and 10-0 April 28.


— Northridge defeated LaPorte 16-5 April 24.

— The Slicers defeated Elkhart 15-3 April 28.


— The Slicers defeated South Bend Adams 12-2 in the championship game April 28 to win their own Hook ’em Zook ’em Tournament. Avery Wolfenbarger went the distance. Olivia Zarantonello went 3-4 with 5 RBI, including a grand slam. Emily Wilmsen and Shelby Linn also each went 3-4. In the tournament’s first game April 27, LaPorte defeated Lowell 3-2 in an exciting walk-off victory. Avery Wolfenbarger went the distance, Rylee Penziol went 1-2 and had a 2-run homer, and Olivia Zarantonello went 2-3. LaPorte also beat Rochester 11-4 on April 28 to move on to the tournament’s final. Megan Reed homered and drove in 4, and Shelby Linn and Olivia Zarantonello each went 2-3. Avery Wolfenbarger got the win.

— LaPorte defeated Merrillville 14-4 on April 25. Shelby Linn went 3-4 with three RBI, Megan Reed went 3-4 with a three-run homer and four RBI, and Olivia Zarantonello, Avery Wolfenbarger, Emily Samuelson, Sophie Sorg, and Nola Hammerschmidt all went 2-3 with one RBI each. Emily Wilmsen went 3-4. The JV squad beat Merrillville 16-0.

— LaPorte defeated Michigan City 4-0 April 24. Avery Wolfenbarger pitched a two-hit shutout and struck out five. Emily Wilmsen went 2-3 and Rylee Penziol went 2-3 with a three-run homer. The Slicer JV team beat MC 15-2.

Girls track

— The Slicers split the meet against Portage and Crown Point April 24. LaPorte 95-Portage 37; LaPorte 63-Crown Point 69.

Boys track

— The Slicers lost two tough DAC contests at Crown Point April 24. The host Bulldogs beat the Slicers 69-63 and the Portage Indians prevailed 73-59.

Boys golf

— LaPorte went 2-1 on a chilly night April 27 at Beechwood to place 2nd among 4 teams. Max Holmes led the way for the Slicers and was also the medalist, shooting a 41. Jack Schable had another solid showing, putting up a 46. LaPorte shot a 192 for the night. Plymouth won the quad, putting up a 186. New Prairie earned its first win of the year, shooting a 196. Michigan City shot a 216.

— On April 26, the Slicers finished 3rd with a 187, dropping two DAC matches against Crown Point and Lake Central. Max Holmes shot LaPorte’s best score with a 41.

— On April 24, LaPorte lost to conference rival Lake Central 159-181, despite the Slicers improving on their best score of the season by 8 strokes. Max Holmes posted the best score for the Slicers with a 40. Jack Schable put up a career-best 45, while Conrad Porter followed with a 47. Graham Siefker also had his best 9 holes in competition, scoring a 49. Jordan Hull rounded out the Slicers with a 55.

Girls tennis  

— LaPorte defeated Portage 4-1 on April 26. Alaina Majors, Allison Varda and Tally Wolf all won for LaPorte at Nos. 1, 2 and 3 singles, respectively. The Slicer No. 2 doubles team of Ana DeAnfda and Cassy Quiroz also won their match.

— LaPorte defeated Riley 5-0 April 25. Singles players Alaina Majors, Allison Varda and Tally Wolf, and doubles teams Madeleine Nunn/Madeline Fleshman and Fatima Escondedo/Jasandra Juareziz, were all winners.

— LaPorte defeated Valparaiso 4-1 on April 24. Winners for LaPorte were Alaina Majors, Allison Varda, Tally Wolf, and the No. 2 doubles team of Ainsley Grabarek/Grace Healy.

— LaPorte defeated Marquette 4-1 on April 23. LaPorte singles players Tally Wolf and Allison Varda and both doubles teams, Madeleine Nunn/Madeline Fleshman and Jory Bales/Rachel Kaminski, were winners. 

No comments.

Leave a Reply