Reminder: Students may apply for Unity Foundation scholarships until March 22 order now Information provided

Applications are available online for the 2019 Unity Foundation of LaPorte County cycle of scholarships and awards. Deadline for submission is March 22. Scholarships and awards ranging from $250 – $2,500 each are awarded through more than 50 funds at Unity, which is the community foundation serving LaPorte County. Scholarship opportunities are available for both graduating seniors and students who already are in college.

To make the application process easier for students and school officials, all applicants may simply visit to complete and submit applications.

The Unity Foundation General Scholarship application was designed to allow students to apply for several different scholarships through one application. The general application evaluates the responses provided and matches applicants with the scholarships for which they may be eligible. Students are encouraged to begin the process ASAP, as transcripts must be downloaded before the application is submitted and some scholarships require verification of club involvement or activities.

In 2018, more than 140 students from throughout LaPorte County received Unity Foundation scholarships totaling over $200,000 to help support their college tuition. That amount was in addition to the Lilly Endowment Community Scholarships, which cover 100% of tuition for two LaPorte County students for four years of college.

Two specialty awards also may be found on the website. Some require nominations of deserving students or adults:

buy now Diane K. Bamberth Memorial Award: Current graduating LaPorte High School seniors pursuing an undergraduate bachelor degree from an accredited, tax-exempt college or university. Applicants will demonstrate the courage and character of Diane Kay Bamberth through leadership, humility, courage, and tenacity, will exhibit strength through diversity and a strong moral fiber. Recipients must enroll as full-time students.

Nominators may be: Colleague, Clergy, Community Member, Family Member, Professor/Teacher, Other. order now Jan Nona Environmental Stewardship Award: Residents of LaPorte or Porter counties, having demonstrated success in moving beyond ordinary citizenship to be an activist in the area of environmental protection. Nominators may be: Community Member, Family Member, Professor/Teacher, Self, Other.

The following additional printable scholarship application forms are available on Unity Foundation’s website:

buy generic viagra The Michigan City Chapter of the Drifters Scholarship Application: The Greater Michigan City Chapter of the Drifters Inc. is offering this scholarship to local area students in effort to financially assist a distinguished African-American and/or other minority undergraduate student of Michigan City High School pursuing higher education.

buy now New Day Foundation’s Connie Yagelski-Marhanka Music Scholarship: These scholarships will be awarded to graduating high school seniors from LaPorte County who are including music in their studies toward a degree or career.

Susan Hay Hemminger Scholarship Foundation Application: There are four award criteria: financial need, academic achievement, community service / leadership, and ability & commitment. Applicants must be residents of LaPorte County, graduates of a high school district that includes LaPorte County in its boundaries, and accepted/enrolled in a two- or four-year undergraduate program at an accredited institution.

Since 1992, Unity Foundation of LaPorte County has served donors, nonprofits and local communities. As LaPorte County’s community foundation, it manages approximately $32 million in assets, administers more than 325 charitable funds, and has distributed approximately $19 million through direct grants and scholarships. The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations.

Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen LaPorte County now and forever by building permanent endowments; providing leadership; offering philanthropic vehicles for everyone; and, being a catalyst for social and economic vitality. For more information, please visit or call 219-879-0327.

No comments.

Leave a Reply