“And the nomination goes to …” Footlight Players announce 2020 award nominees



The Footlight Players, 1705 Franklin St., Michigan City, Ind. has announced the nominations for its 12th annual Footlight Players Award.

La Porteans Sharon Kienitz, Cassandra Redeagle, Alayna Lauritsen, and Joy Davidson are among those nominated.

“Unfortunately, due to the health restrictions, we are unable to host the awards banquet at the Moose Lodge,” a Footlight Players spokesman said. “The nominations will be voted on by this year’s viewers and mailed back to the treasurer, who will tally the votes. The winners will be announced by May 13. The president will contact winners and will be told how, when and where to pick up their award.”

The nominees include:

BEST ACTOR, Dean Johanson; BEST ACTRESS, Caroline Rau and Brittney Urban; BEST FEATURED ACTOR, Andrew Vendl, David Mikolajczyk, and John “Jay” Swindell; BEST FEATURED ACTRESS, Laura Meyer, Diana Hirsch,and Dee Piotrowski; BEST DIRECTOR,        Tony Thomas, Robert W. Komendera and Laura Meyer; BEST NEWCOMER, Lily Belle Nuest, Teagen Bennette and Danielle Bilderback; BEST MUSICAL DIRECTOR, Lee Meyer; BEST CHOREOGRAPHER, Laura Meyer; BEST COSTUME DESIGN, Sharon Kienitz (twice) and Laura Meyer;

Also: BEST LIGHTING DESIGN, Chris West, Michael J Thomas, and Tony J. Thomas; BEST SET DESIGN,  Cassandra Redeagle and Floyd Colosky (twice); BEST SOUND DESIGN,                   Alayna Lauritsen, Tony J, Thomas and Declan Rice; BEST HAIR/MAKE-UP DESIGN, Veronica Thomas, and David Wilkes (twice); BEST SCENIC ARTIST, Joy Davidson and Chris Whybrew (twice); BEST SET DRESSER, David Mikolajczyk and Joy Davidson (twice); BEST PRODUCTION, Doublewide, Texas, Last of the Red Hot Lovers, and Gypsy.

One Response to ““And the nomination goes to …” Footlight Players announce 2020 award nominees”

  1. Diana Hirsch

    May 01. 2020

    Very honored to be nominated!!!!!
    Congratulations to allll the nominees. Great job guys!!

    Reply to this comment

Leave a Reply