Outgoing symphony board members thanked for their service



The La Porte County Symphony Orchestra will be bidding farewell next month to seven members of its board of directors members: V. Michael Drayton, partner,  Drayton, Beige, Sirugo & Elliott, LLP; Howard Jones, principal and administrative partner, NIES Engineering; Rachel Keesbury, Porter Physician Services; Jill Klingbeil, trust office manager, Horizon Bank; Jane Langford, retired educator, La Porte Community School Corporation; Cecelia Largura, environmental strategy manager, NIPSCO; and Jaime Oss, attorney, Huelat & Mack, P.C.

“It has been a privilege to work with these seven wonderful individuals,” LCSO Executive Director Tim King said. “Each one brought an incredible talent to the LCSO board of directors and I will greatly miss working with them. However, I know that the LCSO now has seven additional people in our community who will continue to spread the good word about our orchestra and its value to La Porte County and beyond.”

Board Chairman Leigh Morris commended the retiring board members: “This group of dedicated volunteers has helped guide the orchestra through some challenging times.” Noting that one member,  Drayton, has served the orchestra for 34 years. In addition to serving as board chairman for decades, Drayton spearheaded the development of the orchestra’s Drayton Family Children’s Concert, an annual event that has received national recognition.

The LCSO’s board of directors consists of 21 people who each generally serve a term of three years.

The LCSO is entering its 48th season and is in the midst of a search for a music director. In addition to its subscription season, the presents the annual Hoosier Star concert as well as the annual Holiday at the Pops concert.

For more information, see www.lcso.net

Jill Klingbeil

Jaime Oss

Howard Jones

Jane Langford

Cecelia Largura

V. Michael Drayton

Rachel Keesbury

No comments.

Leave a Reply