Hoosier Star finalists announced; virtual event set for Sept. 12

The La Porte County Symphony Orchestra has named the finalists for the 2020 Hoosier Star music competition.

Finalists in the youth division (age 17 and under) include Jamileh Cornejo, La Porte; Julia Larson, Chesterton; Lily Belle Nuest, Kouts; Raul Palma, La Porte; and Grace Phillips, Westville.

Finalists in the adult division include Alyse Flores, La Porte; Alanna Mossell, Portage; Leann Stutler, Crown Point; Alora Tribole, Chesterton; and Evan Wooding, LaPorte.

These individuals will compete, in their respective divisions, for the title of “Hoosier Star” during competition at 7 p.m. Saturday, Sept. 12.

Each finalist will sing a song of his/her choice, accompanied by musicians from the LCSO under the direction of Maestro Alastair Willis. First place adult and youth winners will each receive a $1,000 prize; second place adult and youth winners will each receive a $500 prize.

For the first time the event will be completely live-streamed and free to view on the following sites:

Hoosier Star Facebook
LCSO Facebook
LCSO Website
LCSO YouTube
WIMS 1420 Facebook

Hoosier Star will also be broadcasted via AM 1420, 95.1 FM and 106.7 FM (simulcast). Voting will take place during the competition by going to www.lcso.net. ($10 per vote).

Sponsors for Hoosier Star include V. Michael & Cherri Drayton, Duneland Media, Horizon Bank, La Porte Hospital, and NIPSCO.

More information about this event and other offerings by the La Porte County Symphony Orchestra can be found by going to www.hoosierstar.com or www.lcso.net.


Jamileh Cornejo


Julia Larson


Lily Belle Nuest


Raul Palma


Grace Phillips


Alyse Flores


Alanna Mossell


Leann Stutler


Alora Tribole


Evan Wooding

No comments.

Leave a Reply