Apply online now for Unity Foundation scholarships


Unity Foundation of La Porte County is now accepting applications for the 2021 cycle of scholarships and awards. The deadline for submission is Friday, April 2, 2021.

Scholarships and awards average $1,000 each. In addition to graduating high school seniors and continuing college students, many scholarships are also open for adults looking to get a professional certificate, or associate, undergraduate, graduate or doctoral degree.

Since 1992, Unity has awarded over $5 million in scholarships to La Porte County students. In the 2020-2021 school year, Unity awarded $250,000 in scholarships to approximately 215 students. 

“While Unity loves investing in our students, we can only do this because of our forward-thinking and caring donors. It is these unsung heroes whose gift has been to provide perpetual support to people they have never met,” said Maggi Spartz, president of Unity Foundation of La Porte County.

The Unity Foundation General Scholarship application allows students to apply for several different scholarships through one form. The application form, eligibility requirements, and additional information are available on Unity’s website, Applicants are encouraged to begin the process early, since there are several steps.  

Three additional scholarship opportunities requiring separate applications are available for students meeting specific criteria. These applications are also due on April 2, 2021, and more information is available on the Unity website.

In addition to the above opportunities, members of the community are invited to nominate deserving students or adults for two specialty awards:

  • Diane Kay Bamberth Memorial Award: Diane Kay Bamberth was an inspiration to everyone around her. She was a devoted wife, mother and friend who was dedicated to community service and local events. This nomination award will be granted to a La Porte High School graduating senior pursuing a four-year undergraduate degree who exemplifies humility, tenacity, and strength of character during adversity. 
  • Jan Nona Environmental Stewardship Award: The award’s purpose is to honor students or “teachers inspiring students” in the Michigan City area who, like Jan Nona, move beyond being an ordinary citizen and become involved in environmental issues in the community. The recipient must be a resident of La Porte or Porter counties. The award will be paid to the recipient or college or university on behalf of the recipient or to a recognized charity of the recipient’s choice.

Visit for more information on these scholarships and awards to make yours or someone’s life better.   

Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local communities. As La Porte County’s community foundation, it manages approximately $32 million in assets, administers more than 325 charitable funds, and has distributed more than $21 million through direct grants and scholarships. The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations. Unity Foundation’s mission is to strengthen La Porte County now and forever by building permanent endowments, providing leadership, offering philanthropic vehicles for everyone, and being a catalyst for social and economic vitality. For more information, visit or call 219-879-0327.

No comments.

Leave a Reply