Footlight announces new board, new season


Standing, from left: Thom Nelson, Bill Wild, Chris West. Seated: Jill Thomas, Bobbi Ann Lauritsen, Laura Meyer. (Photo provided)

On July 14 at the first monthly meeting of the Footlight Players 72nd season, a new board of directors was voted into office. President Chris West, Vice President Laura Meyer, Secretary Bobbi Ann Lauritsen and Treasurer Bill Wild will be joined by three general board members: Thom Nelson, Janice Rice and Jill Thomas.

The 72nd season of shows include “Steel Magnolias” in September, directed by Jan Rice; “The Miracle on South Division Street” in November, directed by Denise Barkow; “Jerry’s Girls,” a musical revue of Jerry Herman classics such as “Mame,” “Hello, Dolly,” and “La Cage Aux Folles,” directed by Laura Meyer, in February; “Drinking Habits,” a comedy directed by Dee
Piotrowski in April; and “The Sound of Music,” directed by Debbie Bartholomew.

The theater also plans to host an adult workshop of a brand new script, “I Don’t Believe We’re in Kansas Anymore,” written and directed by Robert W. Komendera in late
September, and a new playwright’s production of “La Casa de Locos,” penned by
Michael J. Thomas, in early December.

Footlight Players has strong connections with the community and constantly offers award-winning entertainment to the area, as well as offering free children’s workshops and
a $1,000 Robert W. Komendera Acting Scholarship available to our county’s
high school seniors.

The theater is located at 1705 Franklin St. in the heart of Michigan City. The board meets every 2nd Wednesday of the month at 6 p.m. at the theater. Footlight is always on the lookout for new members. No experience is needed, just a love of theater and our community. For more information, call (219) 874-4035 or visit

No comments.

Leave a Reply