Symphony’s “A Jazzy American Salute” is Nov. 13


Leonard Bernstein

Artie Shaw

The La Porte County Symphony Orchestra will open its 49th season with Music Director Dr. Carolyn Watson on Nov. 13 at La Porte’s Civic Auditorium. “A Jazzy American Salute” will feature works of Leonard Bernstein, Artie Shaw, William Grant Still and new and upcoming composer Kevin Day.

Bernstein’s Three Dance Episodes from “On the Town” will be featured along with the LCSO premiere of Artie Shaw’s “Concerto for Clarinet” with guest artist Petar Smilev. Beginning the program will be Kevin Day’s electrifying “Lightspeed” with the composer in attendance at the concert. William Grant Still’s “Afro-American Symphony” will round out the concert. A tribute to our veterans with the “Armed Forces Salute” and Carmen Dragon’s arrangement of “America, the Beautiful” complete the program.

Single tickets are available at, Roxy Music, the Civic Auditorium or in the lobby the night of the concert. Balcony tickets for the Nov. 13 concert are $22 (adults) and $20 (seniors 60 and older).

William Grant Still

No comments.

Leave a Reply