Unity Foundation awards $330,000 in scholarship funds to 153 LP County students


Unity Foundation of La Porte County is awarding over $330,000 in scholarships to 153 students from 43 different scholarship funds for the 2021-2022 academic year.

Since 1992, Unity has awarded over $2.6 million in scholarships to La Porte County students. This year’s recipients represent 10 La Porte County high schools and 46 colleges and universities aroud the world.

2021 scholarship recipients are: Alexander Ake, Christine Ake, Zachary Archambault, Laura Bahena, Alexandria Bailey, Eva Barron, Tessa Bauman, Rachel Bellah, Maria Bibian, Kaitlin Bildhauser, Janaya Blakely, June Brault, Amanda Brown, Austin Casto, Chloe Cloutier, Arianna Cooley, Daniel Council, Olivia DeWitt, Breanna Dove, Garrett Eggert, Carley Ellenberger, Emily Evers, Lefteri Fegaras, Mya Fegaras, Katlyn Fine, Laura Fischer, Jordan Forney, Alyssa Foster, Jade Foster, Lukas Fugate, Aviana Garner, Davionne Garrett, Taylor Gertner, Marcus Gray, Aaron Greve, Emily Gushrowski, Kristen Gushrowski, Megan Gushrowski, Nicholas Gushrowski, Kasey Halfacre, Ashley Hannon, Petra Hemphill, Wreese Hemphill, Wrigley Hemphill, Trevor Henckel, Thomas Hertges, Larissa Herzog, Erica Hesters, Nicole Hesters, Jibreel Hoskins, Abigail Huff, Jessica Jara Huizar, Justin Jayasinghe, Erin Johnson, Jennifer Justice, Emily Kasarda, Joel Kelley, Blake Kessler, Gabrielle Kimmel, Jacob Kiser, Anna Kmiecik, Matthew Knouse, Elaina Kobitz, Sydney Kohn, Stephanie Komasinski, Thomas Komay, Katherine Kovalcik, Michael Lakin, Bailee Laux, Jacqueline Leal, Bayli Lebo, Bailey Lenig, Aranza Leon, Keegan Long, Jada Majied, Adam Manering, Jacob Marsh, Rebecca Marxman, Jillian Matzke, Paige Maudlin, Roziland McCoy, Dalin McCully, Katelyn McIntosh, Josiah Miller, Hannah Misch, Riley Moody, Sydney Moody, Arturo Munoz, Molly Neary, Rory Neary, Payton Neely, Logan Notaro, Elisabeth Novak, Rebekah Novak, Drew Noveroske, Madeleine Nunn, Grace Olah, Janelle O’Neal, Austen Ott, Ryin Ott, Benjamin Patterson, Luke Patterson, Hallee Petri, Jacob Pinkerton, Paige Pizarek, Emily Pontbriand, Sarah Price, Emma Rice, Shelby Riehle, Megan Riley, Makayla Robinson, Caleb Rosa, Katelyn Rudolph, Emily Samuelson, Aldair Sanchez, Savja Santana, Tori Satchwell, Hannah Schoner, Sarah Schoof, Olivia Schroeder, Bethany Schuster, Hannah Schuster, Karah Schutz, Allison Schweller, Mareeya Scully, Leslie Seadorf, Samantha Shei, Jacob Sherrick, Sara Siegmund, Hunter Smith, Sarah Smith, Kaylee Smythe, Sophie Sorg, Micah Spatt, Sydney Starks, Savannah Starr, Nathan Stevenson, Ashleigh Suppinger, Sidney Swanson, Mia Taylor, Bria Thomas, Lia Thomas, Riya Verma, Hannah Walker, Kaylee Welkie, Amanda Werner, Emily Wilmsen, Grace Wyness, Adelaide Young Brust, Andrea Zaknoun, Abigail Zila, Allison Zila.

Unity Vice President Shannon Walker said, “The scholarship committee was delighted with the outstanding quality of our applicants in 2021. This is a testament to our exceptional La Porte County schools, students and parents. It’s especially important to note how these students persevered and pivoted to meet the challenges of the pandemic.”

In lieu of an in-person gathering to celebrate these students, a virtual scholarship presentation recognizing this year’s recipients and the donors who make these scholarships possible will premiere on the Unity website uflc.net, YouTube and Unity’s Facebook page on Oct. 13 at 7 p.m.

“While Unity loves investing in our students, we can only do this because of our forward-thinking and caring donors. It’s these unsung heroes whose scholarship funds provide perpetual support to people they have never met,” said Maggi Spartz, Unity president.

Students may apply for scholarships for the 2022-2023 school year beginning in January 2022. High school seniors, certificate, undergraduate, graduate and doctoral students are encouraged to visit uflc.net to learn more about the opportunities available and apply.

Since 1992, Unity Foundation of La Porte County has served donors, nonprofits and local communities. It manages over $42 million in assets, administers more than 325 charitable funds, and has distributed more than $22 million through direct grants and scholarships. The Council on Foundations has deemed Unity Foundation in compliance with all Indiana and national ethical and operating standards for community foundations.

No comments.

Leave a Reply