Here are municipal primary election candidates who have filed so far (updated Jan. 18)

Below are the candidates who have filed as of Jan. 18 for the May 7, 2019, municipal primary elections. Candidates have until Feb. 8 to file. If not already registered, voters may register ... Continue Reading →

Cutler seeks 2nd term on LaPorte City Council

Laura Cutler has announced her candidacy for a 2nd term on the LaPorte City Council. Cutler is entering her fourth year serving on the council, representing the Third Ward. She moved ... Continue Reading →

Karyl Machek-Feikes seeks 2nd term as 2nd Ward LaPorte City Council member

Press release provided  Republican Karyl Machek-Feikes has announced her candidacy for LaPorte’s 2nd Ward City Council seat. Machek-Feikes has been serving the 2nd Ward and the ... Continue Reading →

LaPorte Mayor Krentz, chosen by GOP caucus in 2017, won’t seek a full term in 2019 election

LaPorte Mayor Mark Krentz announced Jan. 1, 2019, that he will not seek a full term as LaPorte mayor in the 2019 city election. Krentz was elected by GOP caucus on Aug. 11, 2017, to ... Continue Reading →

Galloway leaves city council to become clerk-treasurer

4th Ward LaPorte City Councilman Roger Galloway has a new post after being chosen at a GOP caucus to replace the late Clerk-Treasurer Teresa Ludlow. Ludlow, who was clerk-treasurer ... Continue Reading →

Donnelly wins in LP County, but Braun ousts him from Senate seat districtwide; Lake defeats Espar for prosecutor; Brillson edges Gramarossa for commission. 49% voter turnout. Full election results here.

EDITOR’S NOTE: An impressive 49 percent of LaPorte County’s registered voters (37,790 of the 77,118 registered) cast ballots in the midterm election Nov. 6, 2018. (In contrast, ... Continue Reading →

Slings and arrows continue in county govt. fray as Espar responds to Mollenhauer

EDITOR’S NOTE: This commentary from LaPorte County Prosecutor John Espar is in response to a commentary released Aug. 13 by LaPorte County Councilman Mike Mollenhauer (read that commentary ... Continue Reading →

Mollenhauer blasts Espar for not recusing himself from Sullivan case, cites contradictions

Below is a press release from LaPorte County Councilman Mike Mollenhauer, released Aug. 13 and printed in its entirety: John Espar’s decision to not appoint a Special Prosecutor ... Continue Reading →

Lake edges incumbent Espar in Democratic race for prosecutor; here are full primary election results

Here are results from the May 8, 2018, LaPorte County Primary, 92 of 92 precincts, as reported by the LaPorte County Clerk’s Office. The voter turnout was 16.21 percent of the ... Continue Reading →

Center Township Board candidate Wellinski offers pre-election thoughts

Letter from Center Township Board candidate Bob Wellinski For the past 35-plus years, I’ve covered the political campaigning and, my favorite, the excitement of election night through ... Continue Reading →